Ace Frehley Covers the Beatles, Kinks, Deep Purple, Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix & More on ‘Origins, Vol. 2’ – Out Now

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The “Spaceman” is back — on Friday, Ace Frehley unleashed Origins. Vol. 2, a new collection of covers of some of his all-time favorite songs and artists. This is truly a trip through rock music’s past, as Frehley and his band tackle songs made famous by The Kinks (“Lola”), The Beatles (“I’m Down”), Deep Purple (“Space Truckin'”), the Rolling Stones (“Jumping Jack Flash”) and more.

(Click here to pick up Origins Vol. 2 from our Rock Cellar Store, available on CD or vinyl).

It’s the follow-up to Origins Vol. 1, which came out in 2016.

The record kicks off with Led Zeppelin’s “Good Times, Bad Times,” setting the tone for what’s to follow:

And here’s a little Deep Purple:

“Lola” has rarely sounded so … riffy:

Throughout the album, the “Space Ace” is joined by musical pals including Robin Zander of Cheap Trick, Bruce Kulick, Lita Ford and John 5.

As for how he selected the songs that went into this project, Frehley said this:

“I just thought about the songs that I used to play in clubs when I was doing other people’s material. I went through my album collection and thought about the songs that influenced me the most. It was fun picking out the songs. It’s a pretty well-rounded record and I think the fans will enjoy it.”

Here’s the full track listing:

1. Good Times Bad Times (Led Zeppelin)
2. Never In My Life (Mountain)
3. Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)
4. I’m Down (The Beatles)
5. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones)
6. Politician (Cream)
7. Lola (The Kinks)
8. 30 Days In The Hole (Humble Pie)
9. Manic Depression (The Jimi Hendrix Experience)
10. Kicks (Paul Revere & the Raiders)
11. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (The Animals)
12. She (KISS) [Bonus Track]

Stream Origins, Vol. 2 below, via Spotify:

Related Posts