Ace Frehley Reimagines Beatles B-Side ‘I’m Down’ with John 5, from Covers Album ‘Origins Vol. 2’ Out 9/18 (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Ace Frehley is a student of rock and roll, a lifelong devotee of the genre — and on Sept. 18, “The Spaceman” will release another album of covers, Origins Vol. 2, re-imagining songs from up and down rock music history as only he can. It’s the follow-up to Origins Vol. 1, which came out in 2016.

(Click here to pre-order Origins Vol. 2 from our Rock Cellar Store, available on CD or vinyl).

Frehley’s new single from Origins Vol. 2 is a Beatles song — but not an obvious one. It’s “I’m Down,” a 1965 b-side from the Fab Four. Frehley’s revamped version features guitar master John 5 on six-string accompaniment and can be heard below:

This high-energy trip through time joins the other album track released by Ace Frehley so far, his take on “Space Truckin'” by Deep Purple:

Here’s the track listing for Origins Vol. 2, which finds Frehley also covering the likes of Jimi HendrixCreamthe Kinksthe Rolling Stonesthe AnimalsMountainLed Zeppelin and more.:

1. Good Times Bad Times (Led Zeppelin)
2. Never In My Life (Mountain)
3. Space Truckin’ (Deep Purple)
4. I’m Down (The Beatles)
5. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones)
6. Politician (Cream)
7. Lola (The Kinks)
8. 30 Days In The Hole (Humble Pie)
9. Manic Depression (The Jimi Hendrix Experience)
10. Kicks (Paul Revere & the Raiders)
11. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (The Animals)
12. She (KISS) [Bonus Track]

For more on Ace Frehley and what he’s been up to recently, click here to read our 2018 feature interview.

Related Posts