New AC/DC: Stream ‘Shot in the Dark’ — New Album ‘Power Up’ Out 11/13 (Pre-Order Now)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

After more than a week of online teases, it’s here. Below, stream “Shot in the Dark,” a brand new song from AC/DC, as premiered late Tuesday night:

It’s the first official preview of a new album from the Australian legends titled Power Up, which will be the band’s first since 2014’s Rock or Bust and finds singer Brian Johnson, guitarist Angus Young, guitarist Stevie Young (nephew of Malcolm), bassist Cliff Williams and drummer Phil Rudd back together again.

Power Up will be released on Nov. 13, and finds the band reunited with producer Brendan O’Brien (who also produced Rock or Bust and 2008’s Black Ice).

Click here to pre-order the album from our Rock Cellar Store — and click here for the “Deluxe Lightbox Edition,” which features this description:

The limited edition, one-of-a-kind deluxe POWER UP box is the ultimate fan package. Hit the button on the side of the box and watch the flashing neon AC/DC logo light up while the opening bars of “Shot In The Dark” blast out of the built-in speaker. Inside the box is the full CD package in a soft-pack with a 20-page booklet that features exclusive photos and USB charging cable allowing the box to remain powered up and on display. The vinyl LP will be pressed on 180 gram vinyl and housed in a gatefold jacket. 

The album’s track listing:

1. Realize
2. Rejection
3. Shot in the Dark
4. Through the Mists of Time
5. Kick You When You’re Down
6. Witch’s Spell
7. Demon Fire
8. Wild Reputation
9. No Man’s Land
10. Systems Down
11. Money Shot
12. Code Red

Said Angus to Rolling Stone regarding the new activity:

“It’s been a long, long road,” says Angus on the phone from his home in Australia. “But it’s good that everyone came on board and we get to pump out a bit of new rock & roll for the world. At this time, with the pandemic, hopefully it gives people a few hours of toe-tapping enjoyment.”

Notably, every song on Power Up is credited to Angus and Malcolm Young:

“This record is pretty much a dedication to Malcolm, my brother,” Angus told Rolling Stone. “It’s a tribute for him like Back in Black was a tribute to Bon Scott.”

The rollout of new activity from AC/DC came as a surprise, the band’s social media pages sharing mysterious updates that eventually led to the news of Johnson, Williams and Rudd rejoining the group.

Johnson, Rudd and Williams each left the band in recent years for various reasons. Rudd couldn’t help the band tour for 2014’s Rock or Bust due to being arrested on charges of drug possession and threatening to kill two men, Johnson left the band due to extensive hearing loss and Williams retired before the tour ended.

Stay tuned for more!


  • mark porter says:

    I don’t believe Stevie is Malcolm’s son. I think he is actually a cousin.

  • Related Posts