Coming This Friday 11/13: ‘Power Up,’ the Explosive New Album from AC/DC (Preview/Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

After roaring back to life in recent weeks with a series of cryptic social media posts and, finally, a LOUD new single titled “Shot in the Dark,” Australian hard rock legends AC/DC will return this Friday, Nov. 13 with Power Up.

It’ll be the first new album from the band since 2014’s Rock or Bust, and judging by what we’ve heard thus far from the record, fans are in for riffs, riffs and more riffs, the likes of which rock and roll hasn’t had for a while.

Click here to pre-order the album from our Rock Cellar Store (on SALE)
Click here to pre-order Power Up on LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here for the “Deluxe Lightbox Edition”

In a year that’s been as frustrating and at times surreal for so many, AC/DC releasing a new album is a real treat for rock fans. Here’s the electrifying music video for “Shot in the Dark”:

The video for “Shot in the Dark” packs as much energy as you’d imagine given the song’s customarily riff-first approach; after the iconic AC/DC logo illuminates, the band — vocalist Brian Johnson, lead guitarist Angus Young, guitarist Stevie Young (nephew of Malcolm), bassist Cliff Williams and drummer Phil Rudd — assembles on a sound stage and takes over.

Here’s its track listing:

1. Realize
2. Rejection
3. Shot in the Dark
4. Through the Mists of Time
5. Kick You When You’re Down
6. Witch’s Spell
7. Demon Fire
8. Wild Reputation
9. No Man’s Land
10. Systems Down
11. Money Shot
12. Code Red

Of course, Power Up doesn’t feature Malcolm Young, who passed away in 2017. But the album was very much made with his memory and influence in mind, so much so that Malcolm receives a co-write credit on each song on the album:

“This record is pretty much a dedication to Malcolm, my brother,” Angus told Rolling Stone. “It’s a tribute for him like Back in Black was a tribute to Bon Scott.”

Related Posts