‘A Prog Rock Christmas,’ Produced by Billy Sherwood of Yes, a Holiday Treat for Everyone (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Earlier this month, a special holiday album targeting a specific faction of rock music fans was released. No, not the new one from Judas Priest singer Rob Halford, though Celestial is a highly recommended listen. This one in particular is titled A Prog Rock Christmas.

Produced by Billy Sherwood, known for his work with Yes and Circa, among other projects, A Prog Rock Christmas brings together a host of prog-rock luminaries for a trip through Christmas past and present, through the meticulous musical lens of progressive rock elements.

Here’s Deep Purple guitarist Steve Morse’s spin on “Carol of the Bells,” for example:

The whole array of participating musicians is pretty intense, so here’s a track-by-track breakdown:

1. “Run With The Fox” – Jon Davison
2. “Christmas Lights” – Kasim Sulton
3. “Carol Of The Bells” – Steve Morse
4. “The Twelve Days Of Christmas” – Annie Haslam
5. “Wonderful Christmastime” – Billy Sherwood & Patrick Moraz
6. “I Believe In Father Christmas” – Martin Turner
7. “Fairytale Of New York” – Leslie Hunt & Robin McAuley
8. “O Come All Ye Faithful” – Sonja Kristina
9. “A Christmas Song” – Thijs Van Leer
10. “You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch” – Malcolm McDowell
11. “Linus & Lucy (Charlie Brown Christmas Theme)” – Geoff Downes
12. “Silent Night” – Nik Turner & Simon House
13. “Happy Christmas (War Is Over)” – John Wetton

Stream A Prog Rock Christmas below via Spotify, and be sure to send it to all your friends who might also appreciate this unique take on the usual Christmas record!

Related Posts